Becoming Mrs. Timba

Not so long ago I wrote a blog post about how I was going to start going to the gym. I wanted routines in my life, so I picked a gym close to my house and got busy…. busy working out, and also busy trying to sneak some pictures of that cute personal trainer (which I then texted to my mom and my best friend, of course)!

Pretty soon after that, the cute personal trainer became my personal trainer, and then my friend, and then my boyfriend, and then my fiance, and pretty soon, my husband. I feel very blessed because he’s truly my best friend. Timba and I can do absolutely nothing together and have a fantastic time. BUT we have been blessed with some great adventures including safari (x2), white water rafting on the  Nile, ATV riding, and much more.

A lot of people ask me what I love about Timba, and I think there are a few moments that have really stood out to me.

  1. When Dr. Bishop, one of my professors at Drake, was here visiting, Timba helped her get groceries. Without me. He had known her for just a few weeks and was already deeply committed to loving her, serving her, and making her comfortable.
  2. For my birthday, we rented ATVs and went riding alongside the Nile. Timba was in front of me, but kept looking back every few minutes (Seconds?) to check on me behind him, which at one point caused him to crash into a barbed wire fence!

Timba is sweet, protective, humble, and genuine. He loves me like Jesus does, always putting my needs first.

As I’ve looked back over my relationship with Timba since our engagement, I’m consistently amazed at God’s sovereign hand. What a fantastic God that brought a girl from the midwestern US to fall in love with a guy from Eastern Uganda! God’s fingerprints are all over our relationship and our lives.

Last Sunday, we were going out to lunch at Speke Resort with a group of students from Drake University and MUBS, as well as some of our favorite people, Professor Jimmy and Dr. Deb. Throughout the meal, Timba was acting strange, getting up, answering a lot of phone calls, and speaking with the manager.

At the end of the meal, Jimmy announced that Timba wanted to say a few words. He stood up, and began saying how that day was one of the most special days. And then he asked me to join him. I knew and I was so excited I could hardly breathe!

Timba turned to me and told me how I deserve the best and he wanted to spend the rest of his life loving me, protecting me, and raising a family with me. I didn’t hear the rest. Eventually he asked me to marry him! I was so excited I didn’t even want to put the ring on, I just wanted a hug!

He even ordered a special cake and bottles of champagne to properly celebrate the day, as well as a Manchester United jersey with “Timba #2” on the back.

It was a perfect day, but the most perfect part is knowing that we are beginning a beautiful, challenging, sweet adventure together as a family! I can’t wait to be Timba’s wife and feel blessed that God has chosen us to be a team!

 

Leave a Reply

