MONTH #3

I’m horrible at blogging and I’m even worse at keeping in touch with my family and friends in the states – so instead of writing some earth-shattering analysis of how my life abroad is going… I’m gonna tell you all about what I’ve been doing the past month! Many of these pictures are on Instagram but no shame in double-posting 🙂

August started strong with the move into a new office (construction not yet completed, but hopefully soon). Over all, I’ve really enjoyed being able to settle in, buy new office supplies, and soaking up the view from my my window!

Blog1I also started a gym membership this month and am  enjoying quiet early mornings at the gym. 
Blog2

One of the best parts of August was going to Fort Portal with my boss’s son and nephew and spending time with their friends. Super fun weekend messing around and four-wheeling around Fort Portal!

Blog 4

Fort Portal was a blast except that I had a serious headache the entire weekend that I couldn’t seem to shake. On Monday when I got back to Kampala, I went to the doctor… and found out I need to have my wisdom teeth out. So I will be back in the states for six weeks starting November 24!

Blog 5

A few days after my doctors appointment two of my friends from Drake, Hayley and Megan, came to Uganda to do some research on water quality in Uganda. They’ve been working really hard since they’ve been here but we’ve also had a lot of fun! We went to Jinja, enjoyed the view from the top of Old Kampala Mosque, visited Sure Prospects, and even enjoyed a couple fun nights out with friends 🙂
Blog 8Blog 10Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 10.31.38 AM

At this point, you might be wondering if I ever go to work. I do! Since we moved into the office, I’ve been working on getting us organized! Baby steps… notice the massive piles of unfiled papers at the bottom of the photo below. The Type A in me is freaking out a little!
Blog 13

Not included in this post are a couple dozen pictures of fun weekends with friends and a billion pictures from time with Hayley and Megan, which you can find at waterforsureprospects.tumblr.com!

We ended the month with a fantastic birthday party for one of my best friends, Billy. I had my first experience with ordering a cake in Uganda, and even got to cut the cake with Billy (yes I know it looks like we are cutting our wedding cake).

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 10.37.41 AM

Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 10.26.49 AM

That’s all for now, but one last special shoutout to Ceaser, who is teaching me to drive!

Blog 11

Much love to everyone stateside and see you November 24!

Leave a Reply

