Two Months In!

I’m horrible at blogging but I finally made time to post another update! It’s crazy to think that I’ve been living in Uganda for more than two months now. In some ways, it feels like I just got here, and in other ways it feels like I’ve been here for my whole life. All I know is that it seems like years ago that I was in college!

June and July were fantastic months full of lots of visitors from the US. In a lot of ways, my life has felt like a vacation! Can’t complain about that.

Love means different things at different times, and I can’t entirely put into words how deeply loved I felt last month as my family took the time and the leap of faith to experience Uganda. We had a fantastic time visiting the hot springs, going on safari, going white-water rafting, and exploring Kampala. It was such a blessing to have my family stay in the same building and for them to have the opportunity to meet my boss! As they left, we all agreed – once you’ve been here, it really doesn’t seem so far from home. Uganda and the USA are very different – but it’s possible to love both and for both to feel like home. Here are some pics from our fun adventure:Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.06.44 PM

Cam and me at Murchison Falls

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.06.36 PM

Mom and Dad at Murchison Falls

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.07.20 PM

Watching the sunrise over Lake Victoria

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.07.38 PM

Ruwenzori Mountains

That being said, I knew my life here would be different after they left. With that in mind, I made a goal to spend the month of August developing at least one routine. I thrive on structure  and habit, and developing a routine here has been very, very hard. Supposedly it takes 28 days to make a habit, so it’s a good project to start at the beginning of the month!I am almost a week into my new gym membership at a gym close to my house. It’s important that I have at least one predictable element in my life and going to the gym six days a week seems like a good place to start! Also thankful for a housemate who signed up with me and that I sometimes see people I know there 🙂

 

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.06.16 PM

Enjoying weekend fun with the guys!

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 4.06.08 PMMy neighborhood 🙂

Y’all, an eight hour time difference is serious business. If I don’t text or call you, it’s probably because my free time happens while you’re asleep. I love you and miss each of you so much! Thanks for joining me on this journey!

Please continue praying for a deep network of friendships and a support system in a new country, as well as PATIENCE for the changes around me and PEACE when situations seem uncertain. As always, I am so thankful for each of you and hope to speak with you soon!

Leave a Reply

